Hunting for Snowshoes

I’ve been considering getting snowshoes the past couple of months. I hadn’t really started searching and trying anything on until last week, when I was wandering around Collingwood.

I admit, I passed up a pretty good deal at Play It Again Sports, which my coworker snatched up; he is now the proud owner of a pair of Big Foot snowshoes for $45, down from $90. J., on the other hand, thinks I should put out a little more money and get a decent pair to begin with. Maybe I’ll stop into MEC in Toronto this weekend and see what the selection’s like. MSR looks like a pretty good brand and their products are manufactured in the U.S.A; however, they might be better for mountaineering and climbing. I’ll have to do some more research.

Here’s a good introductory video to what you need to know about snowshoes, floating and crampons:

Leave a Reply

