Unwinding

The last two days have been exhausting. I’ve realized that, when I’m in work mode, I can become very focused and tire myself. I tutored non-stop on Thursday and Friday, without any spare periods. I was lucky that there were few kids after school and I could go home early, for once.

Knowing that Canada goose was the main item on the menu, I fed myself before I wandered over for a celebration for the Nishiyuu walkers. When I came home, I looked at myself in the mirror. A giant pair of giant panda eyes stared back at me. It reminded me that I need to take care of myself more.

It’s this time of year where my job is most difficult. You have to continue to be the optimist in everyone’s life, as many teachers are exhausted and cranky. You have to be the last optimist, even when no one else cares. Mind you, I’m not as stressed out as I was last year, when I was going through a difficult breakup. I am moving forward in my career and am in a happy relationship.

This morning, I went for a massage ($55) and had a chat with J. on the phone. Ate some tostadas for lunch, wandered to the grocery store and baked date squares. Listened to a few hours of my audiobook. Really, I just need a bit of time to unwind. It doesn’t take too much to keep me happy.

Beers tonight with my coworkers. I hope they like dates!

2013-06-08 17.35.42

Leave a Reply

