Early Christmas Present

Our last day of work was Thursday, as we are allowed Friday to travel. Since J. and I are spending our two weeks apart, he gave me my Christmas present a bit early. He had given me a satellite radio system – Sirius XM!

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 9.30.18 AM

Most urbanites wouldn’t bat an eye at a satellite radio system, but the 600 km for me to get to the next town – not a Cree reserve – there are no radio signals or even cellphone signals during the entire drive.

It was fairly easy to set up. He installed the control panel on the dashboard and stuck the antennae on top of the car and the wire around the trunk door. Of course, I still have to pay for the subscription and it isn’t cheap*. I went with a 1-year payment, as it would save me the most money.

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 9.16.59 AMHowever, there was a special deal happening and I did get three months of subscription free! So this will cover me until April 2015.

Screen Shot 2013-12-21 at 9.30.24 AM

This morning, I am in Toronto. The last two days of driving** wasn’t too bad with Sirius XM. I probably listened to four or five hours of stand-up comedy on Comedy Central!

 

*Mind you, J. is the one that pays for internet and that’s about $70 a month!  
**Approximately 15 hours in good weather, without delays, not including filling gas and Tim Horton stops, from Waskaganish to Toronto.

Leave a Reply

