First Day on the New Skis

Just before I came back up north, I picked up a set of poles, cross-country skis and boots ($520) at MEC. I received a 10% discount on the full package; the poles were too long, but were trimmed on site (free).

The English teacher, S., invited me out to ski with her this morning. With two huskies in tow, we wandered behind the school and into a patch of fresh snow between the trees This was my first time backcountry* and I loved it! The weather worked out very well. It was overcast but fairly warm, with lots of light snow. We were out for about 75 minutes and I had a light sweat.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures. I hope to go out for a harder workout next time!

*Without cut trails

Leave a Reply

