Thoughts on Net Worth

Net Worth: As you may have noticed, I no longer post my net worth on a monthly basis. I’ve decided that focusing on the numbers are silly, but I should be looking at my overall net worth and the trends.* As you can see in the chart, I bought a car in August but I am only starting to save a bit of money again. I am meeting my monthly insurance and car payments with no trouble.

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 8.26.08 PMGroceries: I’ve not taken any more weekend trips down to Val D’Or, Rouyn or Amos. as gas and hotels add up pretty quick. Instead, we started ordering groceries online through IGA.ca every two weeks. The two stores in Waskaganish have limited selections, but online, we can get avocados, zucchinis, eggplants, antipasti, pomegranates¬†and pressed apple juice. Sometimes there’s even enoki mushrooms, bean sprouts and bok choy! The prices are also very reasonable. However, it costs about $50 for shipping, but the school reimburses this as part of our ‘northern allowance’.

I’ve also put my Air Miles collector number onto my IGA account, so I’m getting points for every purchase!

Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 11.35.01 AMInvestments: I just sold off $5000 worth of my Industrial Alliance investments, as they weren’t doing well and finally recovered slightly past the purchasing prices. I still scratch my head over investments, as these purchase were made by my parents. I’m going to do some reading the next few months to try to figure out where I can set this.

Since my car purchase, I still have some contribution room left in my Tax-Free Savings Account, but I feel I need to take a risk and start playing with my money. I’ve been slacking on this the past few years and I need to face this as I’ve procrastinated way too much on it.

My good friend B. is recommending QuestTrade, which offers the first three months with unlimited free trades; I feel that I need to do some research before I sign up as I don’t want to waste that opportunity. On the website, they’re even offering free ETF purchases!

Maybe I will pick her brain about it sometime next week …Screen Shot 2014-02-09 at 12.07.54 PM

*Therefore, I am not showing the y-axis values on my chart.

Leave a Reply

