GoPro Hero 3+: Live Feeds

I’d bought a GoPro Hero 3+ silver edition ($300) a week before I traveled to Turkey. I didn’t have much of a chance to figure out the settings. In my frustration, I didn’t take as many pictures as I would normally (and in hindsight, I should have also brought my D40X).

The tricky thing about GoPros is that there is no screen for immediate feedback. You have to estimate your camera angle and you really have no idea what you’re shooting. I tried my best, but you can see in this video of me in a hot air balloon, I have no idea what I’m doing. Framing is impossible …

… unless you create a LAN to your cellphone and run live feed through the GoPro app*! I was struggling to hook it up to my new Moto G for the past month. This weekend, as I was browsing the Internet for a solution, I realized that I hadn’t update my firmware.

Doh.

It really was as simple as that. Now the Android shows a live feed (with a 2-second delay). I can control everything about the GoPro from the phone alone – regular vs. widescreen, turning it on/off, shutter speed, video vs. stills vs. photoburst.

I’m just soooo elated it finally works! I can’t wait to see what I can produce!

DCIM100GOPRO

*A second option is to purchase an LCD Touch BacPack for $80 USD.

Leave a Reply

