Fading from Facebook

As school winds to a close for the summer holidays, I’ve realized that I spend far, far, far too much time on the beloved interwebs.

Having Facebook does this to me, and when I quit it for two years, it allowed me to better focus on my needs during my funemployment days as a twenty-something living at home*. It helped me recalibrate my internal compass.

I needed it then.

And I need it again now.

I came to the realization earlier this afternoon as I was trying to get into my book, Shantaram, a hefty 900-page paperback novel. As I was sitting on my armchair, it dawned on me that 1) I barely remember what happened in the last chapter and 2) I needed to bail about three pages into the chapter because I was getting that bored.

And when you’ve realized you’ve got a bad habit, it’s time to kick it.

Therefore, I’ve got to wean myself from Facebook during my summer vacation. Up north, it’s a lifeline; you get all your information in one place – everything from which fitness classes are running after work, to a parent asking you for an assignment, to a coworker giving you a heads up on a student who just might be skipping because she’s upset with her boyfriend. This is how things work in small communities in this day and age: Facebook has become the community board, newspaper and shared phone line.

Stepping away from it, when I’m back in the city will allow me to focus on actually working on my goals. And while there’s nothing wrong with browsing the internet, I should start compiling interesting reads on my blog, like NZ Muse‘s “Link Love”, rather than on my Facebook account (which causes me to obsessively check for feedback).

Just thinking about this makes me anxious, as if I were anticipating quitting a pack of Camels a day. But I’ve done it before, so I can do it again.

And for your reading pleasure, here are the most interesting links I’ve come across this week:

*This was also the same time in which I started my blog, Two Degrees of Unemployment.

Leave a Reply

