Reconnecting with the Community

Tonight, I hosted a gathering for the Toronto Vegetarian and Vegan Meetup. It was a nice evening and I had fun doing it (as always)!

When I lived in Toronto, I hosted events regularly. My initial motivation was … well, simply to try new restaurants and do fun stuff. Sometimes, my friends weren’t able to join me or were not interested, so I began crowdsourcing the internet. I mean, what’s so weird about gathering a bunch of strangers (or potential new friends) to join me? Not only is it fun to meet people, but it’s a great way to practice your professional networking skills and shake up a boring routine.

Tonight, we met up at Saravanaa Bhavan, a South Indain restaurant that has been in Scarborough for … gosh, quite a long time! This is a chain of restaurants which has international locations, mainly in South Asia and the Middle Eastern countries such as Kuwait and Oman. It is entirely vegetarian and vegan dishes are available too. Compared with Northern Indian dishes, it is a lot less heavy on the stomach. I ordered the mini tiffin set ($8.50), which included ravi kichadi, sambar, idlies and a mini masala dosa with potatoes. One of the attendees, J., whom I had met before, explained that I was actually eating a lot of breakfast dishes!

There was a lot of good chatter, despite the fact that several people had dropped out last minute. I was also able to pick J.’s brain about traveling in India; he said he’d be happy to correspond by email.

Wow, only five more months until I’m there!

 Hosted_a_successful_event_tonight_for_the_Toronto_Vegetarian_and_Meetup_Group._We_shared_delicious_South_Indian_dishes__such_as_ravi_kichadi__sambar__idlies__masala_dosa_at_Saravanaa_Bhavan_in_Scarborough__southindianfood__Indianfood__eatwithyourhand

One thought on “Reconnecting with the Community

Leave a Reply

