Lesson Planning Apps

The last two evenings after school was spent on an exhausting search for a good lesson planning app.

After vigorously testing out two apps – Planbook.com and Planbook by Hellmansoft – I become pretty frustrated. I like Hellmansoft, considering that you can throw lessons into a library to be pulled out later. This would be fantastic for developing a good, solid science curriculum that I could pull out year after year. However, it drives me nuts that I can’t put blocks of spares and that the pricetag is around $32. If I have more time next summer, perhaps I’ll play around with it a bit more to see if I want to commit to a better long-term investment.

Screen Shot 2014-08-20 at 9.20.30 PM

In the end, I actually ended up settling on Planboard, the very app that I started with last year and gave up on. 

All three systems are accessible by tablets and laptops. However, most of the lesson planning apps are not entirely accessible offline. This was the very reason I gave up on Planboard in the first place, but I am now a) able to tether my Android to the Macbook Air and b) continue to use my Macbook Air at school on a daily basis. I also changed my data plan on Koodo to 500 MB to 1 G a month; we’ll see how much my bill comes out to be next month …

I’d write more, but the first week is wearing me down a little as I’m getting back into the swing of things.* I will leave you with a nice screenshot of my newly set-up schedule for the year. 
 Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 10.16.04 PM*Being in bed by 10:30 pm can be a struggle for me. The FitBit, however, is working well with its alarms around 10:00 pm, just to remind me to wind down and brush my teeth.

Leave a Reply

