App of the Day: Socrative

Learning how to use new tools takes time.

While I do have a make a list of BYOD tools and apps I like to try out, I often don’t plan when I do it. This week, while scrambling for a way to review concepts before giving out a test, I managed to create a couple of quizzes on Socrative.com. I had made an account last year, but hadn’t had the chance to try it out yet.

It worked fabulously!

It was fairly easy to use and I like the platform more than Kahoot’s. The kids like Kahoot because it’s fun and fast, but Socrative can be set up for individual students or teams a lot more easily. If a question is answered incorrectly, students can also read through the additional notes that you create to understand the answer a bit better.

Here’s a screenshot of some of our results today:

screenshot

I’m also enjoying the fact that a lot of these tools will be just stored online and I won’t have to do it all again next year! Check it out if you have a chance.

Leave a Reply

