Using the Foam Roller

Warm-ups: Since S. and I had a discussion on injury preventions, I was happy to come across these warm-ups exercises for gymnastics, that were recently posted on Hybrid Perspectives, a site that focuses on physical therapy in gymnastics. There are actually three parts (part 1, part 2 and part 3).

I pulled out my foam roller, which had been sitting in the closet for the past three years, and followed the exercises in part 1 this morning and – wow – my lats are tight! They felt like rocks! This isn’t a surprise, since I already know I have slight restrictions in the lats from taking MacKenzie Miller’s free fitness tests a few weeks ago. The rest of the exercises were fine. I will try to do these more regularly since you only need to do each of them for 15-30 seconds.

Pincha mayurasana: Moving into splits has been going well, but now I’ve realized that the wall I’ve hit is my lack of shoulder strength. I can’t hold myself up for very long, which prevents me from taking the time to refine my pose.

For now, I’ve decided to start doing these exercises suggested by Christina Sell’s video to focus on strength building. Specifically, that means moving back right up to the wall and pushing my head forward to reinforce pushing the elbows down and lifting myself up with my shoulder girdle.

pinchapractice

One thought on “Using the Foam Roller

  1. Pingback: Using a Yoga Strap | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

