More Backbends and Handstand Training

Cellphone plan: I downgraded my current 1 GB plan ($60) to the 500 MB ($45). Since I don’t need data very often – Internet at school is faster than it is at home – I thought I’d save some money.

Handstand practice: Did some tick-tocks (video) for the first time, as well as shoulder taps. The tick-tocks were scary at first, but after a little while, I got used to them. Shoulder taps also took a little while to get used to; when I initially started, I noticed that I balanced very well on my left hand but would fall over when I had to balance on my right. I had to consciously make an effort to be more balanced on each side and was fine after that.

Yoga toys: Oh, I would love a Liforme yoga mat. I did the calculations, converting it from US dollars, but even after a 10% discount, a single mat would cost about $190 CAD including shipping. My eyes just went wide when I saw the order and clicked ‘canceled’. Instead, I decided to treat myself to a Dharma Wheel instead. Still pretty pricey at $136 CAD for a PVC ring … *blush*. It’s a little birthday present to myself so that I can continue working on my backbends in a safe manner.

Wheel pose: This is a tough pose; it requires your entire body to be working together. I have been practicing this the past week. It is getting much better, although I should be careful about crunching my lower back. Having my forearms in a yoga strap helped guide my arms to better support my body; I believe my arms were previously in bad form, making the pose itself much more difficult. I also started trying to balance on one leg, no easy feat!

Here’s the best wheel the whole week, with a slight leg variation:

Leave a Reply

