Five Must-Have Productivity Apps

There are a few digital tools that I really cannot do without.

  1. Evernote – Where I keep notes and my goals on hand. I also have lists and notes when I’m reading non-fiction books. Syncs to the desktop app, your mobile app or just log into the website to edit or update your notes.
  2. IFTTT –  Abbreviated from “If this, then that …” Create functions or “recipes” that help automate your life. Want to make sure you have a copy of all the photos that your friends tag you on Facebook? IFTTT it. Want to set up the embed code to a new WordPress blog entry everytime you upload a video on Vimeo? IFTTT it. I cannot say enough about IFTTT! It automatically mutes my phone at work and turns up the volume after 4 pm. Most importantly, if I lose my phone, I send an email to IFTTT as a trigger, and as long as my phone is connected to the internet, this will max out the volume so I can call and find my lost mobile device.Screen Shot 2014-11-16 at 7.00.39 PM
  3. Coach.me – Previously named Lift.do. This was a recent find from a few months ago. You can set up weekly goals. The idea is that you join groups of people who share the same goals and you can discuss strategies of how you’re acheiving them or what hurdles you’re facing. Other people can also like your progress and it’s the group mentality that encourages the success of this program.
  4. Toodledo – I’ve gone through quite a few planner apps, but Toodledo has always been the backbone. It syncs up with almost any digital schedule book or planner app and has been around for quite a few years. Set tasks to different folders (i.e. finance, vehicle, work) or priorities (i.e. low, medium, high and top). I normally have this open at work on my desktop and on my Android phone, there is a hot list of my top tasks on my desktop.
  5. Google Calendar – I’ve been using this since 2007!
One thought on “Five Must-Have Productivity Apps

Leave a Reply

