Bath + Yoga

Another two hour bath.

Signed up for Yoganatomy.com emails and found myself reading about the serratus anterior, leading me to read about jump backs in chatvaari and subsequently, the “looking up” process in treeni of surya namaskara.

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 1.31.27 PM

Wow, David Keil’s breakdown of each step in surya namaskara is amazingly accurate, but his writing is simple and easy to understand. He explains everything from a physiological standpoint. A few things I learned/realized tonight:

  • Jumping back with high hips is foundational to handstand practice
  • Pouring the weight into your hands allow your hamstrings to turn “off” or release tension
  • We might normally engage our triceps in treeni, but lean farther and you should feel your serratus anteriors more

I tested this last point when I got out of the tub. Yes, David Keil is right on!

Also, I have discovered a magical realm in which I can pretend I fluidly go from a straight-legged navasana, cross my ankels and jump back with grace. If you fill the bath high enough, the buoyancy of the water allows you to lift up easily with less work from the core so that you can tilt forward and pretend you’re jumping back into chaturanga. I was enjoying this quite a bit for about 5 minutes. I got to practice this as if I did have a strong enough core and I understood what it meant to tilt that chest forward so that your pelvis lifts, allowing your feet to jump back.

When I got out of the tub, however, good ol’ gravity crushed my ego a bit and brought back reality. It reminded me, “Min Min, you got a lot of work to do. Yep, keep working for the next 8 years and you’ll be able to pull it off like Kino (maybe not as gracefully).”

Ahhh, it was fun while it lasted.

Leave a Reply

