Sunny Sunday: Asana Practice

I need to do more cardio.

I hate the belly fat that still hangs around me and I won’t be able to get rid of it unless I get my blood pumping. I’ve already learned through William Broad’s book, The Science of Yoga, that yoga often slows down your metabolism, making it harder to lose weight.

So this afternoon, I had signed up for a two-hour FITT Jam session, which is a mix of boxing, spinning and various cardio exercises. Unfortunately it got canceled because there weren’t enough people. ARGHH!!! Instead, I stayed at home and caught up on one of the Instagram yoga challenges I had intended to follow. I tried a few new asanas, including lotus peacock and reverse grasshopper.

I’m glad I’ve been working out my obliques a lot this week, because reverse grasshopper really kicked my butt. I also banged my knee nice and hard, so I’m sure I’ll have a big fat bruise tomorrow. Here was my best attempt:

It’s funny; I haven’t had any obsessive asana practice recently. This was pretty normal for the past 6 months and in the past while, I haven’t been doing it. I had actively decided against deep asana practice as a way to encourage myself to do more vinyasa, but didn’t expect that wrist pain would have set me back for two weeks.

This afternoon, as I was going through all the different asanas, I was very content in my own world, just drifting in my practice and not even keeping track of time. J. was out walking a coworker’s dog so I had the place to myself and loved it. As Daniel Pink would say, I was experiencing “flow” and being present on my mat.

Even thought it was fun to just play and practice, I do have to give myself a kick in the butt … I also haven’t touched the squat rack in a while, sadly, nor have I been doing any other cardio. So that means I NEED TO GO TO THE GYM AGAIN!!!!

Leave a Reply

