Senior Math ABQ

I am a dork.

And that’s ok.

Having just finished my first week of classes for my Senior Math ABQ – we have Fridays off, thank GAWD – I have been reflecting on how it went. We have 9 people in class and we’re a pretty good crowd. Everyone contributes and we all work hard. Discussion is always flowing. This is exactly what I was craving for PD; like-minded people who have drive and are positive.

Once you hit the workplace, you have to be very careful about where you get your energy; sometimes you can surrounded with Debbie Downers and Negative Nancys’.  Taking this course is a way of refreshing my drive and motivation. Professional development helps me to keep the bar high because I surround myself with passionate people.

A few observations:

  • I can remember where stuff is on websites. I have a decent memory for navigating the Interwebs. I was able to dig up the neat interactive fraction kit on the CLIPS site.
  • I still remember how to draw third degree polynomials after teaching MCT4C in the Village back in 2009. I was afraid I’d forgotten these things!
  • We had to look at the curriculum expectations for a high school math course and order them, creating a criteria as to why we’d group the expectations that way to help guide students in their learning. Since it was group work that would have worked well with sticky notes, I went digital and threw it up on Padlet.com. Then I threw up our Padlet on the projector. I like that people were impressed, but I don’t work to impress people. Geeks work to impress themselves.

Task list this weekend is to finish my first assignment and start working on my unit planning.

Screen Shot 2015-07-10 at 10.34.32 AM

One thought on “Senior Math ABQ

  1. Pingback: Starting the Year Right | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

