Monthly Goals: September

Funny thing, I didn’t write a lot of goals this month but as I reflect on what I did do, I added it to the list. It wasn’t too bad a month!

Health
  • Squat and bench press (0/5): The other person who promised to be my partner has been sick and not been consistent with trying to make appointments with me. Sigh … will probably have to find a new partner.
  • Spin once a week (4/5): This worked out pretty well, except when two of the classes canceled, I still made sure I worked out during the same time.
  • Go kayaking (3/5): We haven’t gone kayaking in nearly two years. I finally made a huge deal about getting the car racks out and we went on the water last weekend, just to make the most of the warm fall days.
  • Good portion control (4/5): Thought I have been doing decently with serving appropriate portions. I’m not necessarily making small portions, just not overeating! I am working out much more regularly, so there’s no need to cut down the calories. I need them for all the fat I am burning breathing out. I’ve also noticed my waist also looks slightly slimmer, yay! Below is a picture of chana masala – yeah, it’s instant from a box – quinoa and sautéed swiss chard that my coworker gave me from her garden.
  • Continue investing in Sunday yoga club (3/5): I managed to get a couple of new people out, which is great! I think it’s pretty well-established who wants to come and who doesn’t. I use Facebook to set up announcements each week. I’ve also pushed the sessions to 10 am and 11 am back-to-back so that it’s more efficient. Also tried a prenatal yoga video for the first time; I’m learning a lot!

  

Professional Development
  • Work on Mandarin (0/5): Did not do unit 23 and 24 of Pimsleur Mandarin Chinese as I had intended. Fell on the back burner.
  • Apply for a workshop (5/5): I applied to do a workshop at the upcoming school board conference and got accepted! Woohoo!! I will have to start working on my presentation this weekend.
Finance
  • Get back into reading about finance (2/5): Signed up for a MoneySense subscription but got dinged with a $25 inactivity fee by Questrade. Baaaaad me.
  • Research a new credit card (1/5): I still haven’t decided whether I should keep my TD Visa Rewards Rebate, which isn’t quite so rewarding anymore. I’m still looking around … transfer this goal to next month.
Teaching
  • Explore School Tools (0/5): I had downloaded the program SketchUp but didn’t get around to playing with it.
  • Blog about teaching (5/5): Maintaining another blog is a lot of work. I tried to make good posts that are worth reading. I would like to try to post at least once a week. Having the blog is good for keeping me accountable to trying new things though.
  • Connect through Twitter (3/5): Twitter is not really my cup of tea. I don’t check it all that much but it’s good for stimulating discussion and checking out good articles on #edtech.
  • Invest in new challenges (4/5): I am at heart an ambivert with more introvert tendencies and need my evening to myself. The past couple of years, I was not interested at all in helping out with the orientation trip – a one-week long trip where Grade 11s travel around the province to check out post-secondary campuses and programs – and I never intended to join. But since I’m only teaching Grade 10s and 11s this year, I feel I have a vested interest to see where the path beyond high school goes. It will be happening in the beginner of November and we will travel to Ottawa and Montreal.
One thought on “Monthly Goals: September

Leave a Reply

