Getting Ready for Taxes

I’ve decided I’m going to try to do taxes on my own this year.

I know, I know … I’m suppose to be an adult, and really, I should have done this already, but having an awesome, supporting and lovely mom sometimes means that you forget to do a few things on your own! The past couple of months, I started prepping for taxes:

  • Bought and installed the TurboTax software, since I finally have a laptop that supports Windows
  • Collecting and printing out membership fees, donation receipts and tax forms (T4, RL-1)
  • Utilized the full contribution room on my RRSPs
  • Bought a new book to help me learn more about RRSPs (this will affect me more in the future than this year)
  • Started a Revenu Quebec clicSÉQUR account too (I’ve put this off since last year)

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 10.57.12 AM
To be completely honest, I hadn’t gone farther than installing the software. I haven’t really looked at it yet … the idea of doing taxes by myself feels intimidating, but I know this is just a mental block for me.

My mom did tell me about a site called AnswerXchange to support Turbo Tax users*, which will be great when I’m trying to find help if I’m stuck.

Screen Shot 2016-03-01 at 9.42.18 AM

That’s as far as I’ve made it so far. It will be a work in process!

Helpful Links

*Ahem, someone needs to buy their software soon!!

3 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Taxes

  1. Pingback: Submitted My Taxes! | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

