Dealing with Long Femurs

My lifting partners are still recovering from injury or illness, so I went solo to the gym yesterday. It’s been a while since I’ve done lifting on my own.

Last week, I got feedback from a powerlifter on Instagram that my torso is too far forward in my back squats. When I found this detailed article on how to squat with long femurs, I realized that tilting forward is common for people like me with super long legs*.
As I do not have access to a heeled shoe (yet), I made all the other adjustments suggested in the article. Primarily, these were the changes I made:
  1. Worked more high bar – In the past, I had avoided this because I don’t like the feeling of the barbell on my traps
  2. Widened my stance – This technique means that my long leg bones don’t push my butt as far back and subsequently, my torso won’t have to fold as much
  3. Pausing “in the hole” – Taking a beat at the bottom means that I ensure full depth. It may have been that going low bar has caused me not to go as deep as I should.

Here’s a shot from the front:

And another shot from the side, which reveals that torso is more upright:

I also got feedback from the aforementioned powerlifter and she gave me the thumbs up! Of course, I’ll still play around with high bar and low bar. Personally, I prefer to go low bar, but if my overall form requires high bar, then I’ll have to stick with that!

*I wish there were more articles in yoga pertaining to how differing physiology affects weight distribution, alignment or tension. Yoga seems to be steeped in positive thinking and gung-ho attitude that “everyone can do it no matter your body type”, but there is still a necessity for analysis. I assume yoga, being a fairly young “sport” in Western culture, hasn’t had time to develop as much data and knowledge as other traditional sports have. It seems that many yoga instructors often don’t have a strong background in physiology as athlete-turned-trainers would.
Leave a Reply

