Consolidating Apps: Switching from Coach.me

One of my favourite goal-tracking apps is Coach.me, formally known as Lift.do.  I’ve used this app for a couple of years now; the simplicity of the app and supportive online community are two features which have kept me on as a client. I’ve mainly used it to track – on a weekly and monthly basis – how often I’ve been lifting,doing barre work, taking my probiotics, calling my family* or reading a book.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 1.55.45 PM
However, in an effort to minimize the number of productivity apps I’m using, I decided to switch over to Habits on Toodledo instead. Don’t get me wrong, I love Coach.me and I’ve tried to encourage friends to use it, but it’s easy to get distracted when you are constantly switching from one app to the next. And since becoming a paying Toodledo customer last year**, why not simply consolidate my task list and weekly habit checklist?

Habits hasn’t been around for very long, it was only unveiled just over a year ago. It functions similarly to the Coach.me interface, but you must assign which days of the week you complete your habit. The other motivator is to build “chains”***, long periods in which you successfully complete each habit. Unlike Coach.me, there is a strong visual reminder when you’ve missed a day or have been slacking off on a particular behaviour.

Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 12.38.43 AMHere is a screenshot of the app interface. As you can see, it’s been a busy week and I didn’t manage to call my family during the weekdays:

image
You can access your habits by logging in through a browser as well. It’s simple and easy to read. I like that you can see it in a monthly calendar. There is also the option to mark if you have failed your task and it is highlighted conspicuously in bright red.

Screen Shot 2016-04-09 at 2.40.30 PM

While I’ve only been using Habits for 2 weeks, I’m happy that I’ve transition over. I like seeing the “chains” and also seeing what I need to work on. While I’ve been doing yoga fairly regularly – I took a break for about 3 months – I didn’t manage to get on my mat because I was helping out with some night shifts at the local book fair.

Looking forward to going back to the gym through the whole week. As well, I’ll be getting back into barre work and using my standing desk more often!

Do you use any goal-tracking apps? Have you ever used Coach.me or Toodledo?

*As you can see, I’m not always good at calling my family. Of course, there’s no need to in the summer when I’m with them, or in December, when I’m home for the winter holidays.

**A Silver membership costs $15 USD/year.

***The only issue with this system is the inability to switch days. I normally go to the weight room Monday, Wednesday and Friday. However, if I switch over to another day, I can’t mark it on that specific calendar day without changing the settings and breaking my chain. The workaround is to just check off the habit on your last assigned day.

One thought on “Consolidating Apps: Switching from Coach.me

  1. Pingback: The Downside of Being Offline: Using a Bullet Journal | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

