Not So Vegan Make-up

While I was researching vegan make-up products on the internet, I found lots of blogs promoting the brand Physician`s Formula. This is an affordable drugstore brand of make-up that is available at Shopper`s Drug Mart, Rexall or Walmart. The vegan blogs I`ve read warned that some of their products have beeswax and carmine.

However, a lot of the information seems rather unclear. I inquired about my blush, which, when I purchased it, I had checked the ingredient list and didn`t remember seeing anything unusual. I`ve been using it for nearly two years now.

14322727_660196084138070_3650685611088425664_n
Last week, I decided to do a quick check. I sent an email and got this response:

Thank you for taking the time to contact Physicians Formula.  We appreciate you taking the time to contact us with your question.  Although we do not claim “vegan” we do not use animal bi-products in any  of our cosmetics. You will be happy to know that Physicians Formula does not conduct any tests, or commissions any outside facility to conduct tests that involve the use of animals

The safety of our products is established using such alternate methods as “in-vitro” testing, human clinical evaluations and human use-trials under the supervision of a Board Certified Dermatologist.

We hope this information was helpful.  We appreciate your interest in our products and hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.  For any  further inquiries please contact us at 1-800-227-0333 and one of our Consumer Relations associates will be happy to assist you.

I was pretty miffed that they would waste my time by copying and pasting a passage I had already read on the website! I wrote a complaint about the first email and got a second response.

The product is not consider vegan due to containing carmine.

Ok, great. So my blush is not even close to vegan. It’s made with carmine, which is basically squished bugs. I can’t say I’m a finicky person and having ingested gelatin accidentally, I wouldn’t pretend that I want to throw up just from finding that out. However, I just have no interest in using this anymore. I am annoyed with Physician’s Formula and the fact that they mark their products on their website as cruelty-free when they actually aren’t.

carmine

I also found another make-up blog that complained Physician’s Formula simply stopped responding to the blogger’s email. So I appreciate companies like Tarte and Urban Decay that are transparent and clearly mark their items as vegan. But this just reaffirms the headache of having to do all the research and figuring out what products are cruelty-free and which are not. Sighhhhh.

Maybe I should just buy from vegan companies, like 100% Pure**. It would make life soooo much easier.

3 thoughts on “Not So Vegan Make-up

  1. Pingback: Weekend Update | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

