How One Podcast Causes Me To Lose Sleep (In a Good Way)

Tonight, I was relaxing with a glass of Cavespring 2014 Riesling in the bathtub. I was listening to an episode of the Mo’ Money podcast, whom my lovely childhood friend, Sarah Li Cain of High Fiving Dollars recently recommended to me. I really loved the  interview that Jessica Moorhouse had done with Gail Vaz-Oxlade, so I downloaded another episode of Mo’ Money with Bruce Sellery.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-11-44-00-pm

If you live in Ontario, you may have seen Bruce Sellery on CityTV, or perhaps his articles in MoneySense magazine. After seeing that his book was highly recommended in MoneySense, I purchased and read his book in April, and decided that I need to reassess my RSPs using Sellery’s tips.

While listening to the podcast tonight, I realized that, since purchasing a 2-year GIC, I hadn’t done much more. I’m not sure whether the wine assertive, but I went to the Wealthsimple website, since Jessica Moorhouse said that using her link would get you an extra $50.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-11-44-58-pm

But before I threw any funds in, I also wanted to see what the company was about, so I watched this great Lunch and Learn with CEO Michael Katchen, when he spoke at the MaRs Centre in Toronto back in 2015.

Yeah, it’s 30 minutes long:

Mmmmm, okay. He’s a pretty smart guy and he knows what he’s talking about. This seems like a good company and I’ve seen their ads floating around for a couple of years now. His vision is to give a simple, straightforward investment vehicle that all Canadians can get into without paying ridiculous fees*. Even though I just brought back my Questrade account from the dead, I need all the help I can get, sooooo … eeeh, might as well. I opened an account and threw down $2500 into an RSP account, while trying to figure out if I’ve already maxed my TSFAs for 2016. It won’t be processed until a couple of days from now, so at this point I stopped and wondered how tired I was.

And yes, now I’m blogging, my boyfriend is grumbling that it’s past my 10 pm bedtime. I check the clock and it’s 11:47 pm.

It’s not a Wiki-hole, but it’s kinda like one. At least I’m coming out financially better from this. I will tackle this further another day!

*It’s not a secret that Canadians pay some of the highest investing fees, including MERs.

4 thoughts on “How One Podcast Causes Me To Lose Sleep (In a Good Way)

  1. Pingback: Monthly Goals – November | Stumbling Through My Thirties

  2. Pingback: Net Worth: November | Stumbling Through My Thirties

  3. Pingback: Money Research: Podcasts and Articles | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a Reply

