Money Research: Podcasts and Articles

A few months ago, Rogers announced that it would stop printing MoneySense Magazine. NOOOOOOO!!! WTF!?!?!

Sigh. That is the way of things, I suppose.

And so, since reopening my Questrade account last month, moving some of my TSFAs to a robo-advisor* instead, I’ve been spending more and more time reading about personal finance from other sources. Here are some of the articles and podcasts which I’ve been reading and listening to:

Articles

  • Nest Wealth vs. Wealthsimple: A Tale of Two Robo-Advisors via Boomer and Echo – A quick and dirty comparison of the two leading robo-advisors in Canada. I recently started an account through WealthSimple after listening to Jessica Moorhouse’s podcast. I’m kind of sick of hearing that Canadians pay some of the highest MERs in the world, so 0.35% – 0.50% through WealthSimple sounds like a pretty good deal to me. Nest Wealth charges a monthly subscription fee of $20/month, capped at $80/month; this would be more enticing if I had a big chunk of change.
  • The Complete Guide to Canada’s Robo Advisors via Young and Thrifty – A really good breakdown of the all major robo-advisors in Canada. Still a fantastic read, although longer read than the last article.screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-10-04-45-pm
  • The Best Financial Advice I Ever Got via ModernAdvisor – Yes, this article comes from a robo-advisor but they are pieces of advice from Canadian PF bloggers. Found this article posted on Twitter. Short read but a great one! Going through these quotes, I found myself nodding in agreement. Of course, all those tips and tricks that probably took me the last 5 years to learn …screen-shot-2016-12-14-at-10-05-46-pm

Podcasts

  • Jessica Moorhouse’s Mo Money podcast – The podcast I had mentioned a few posts ago. I’ve been hooked ever since my friend, Sarah Li-Cain of High Fiving Dollars, recommended it to me. Jessica originally hails from Vancouver, B.C., but now runs her business out of Toronto, Ontario.
  • Canadian Couch Potato podcast – If you’re a personal finance blogger or you read MoneySense magazine, than you’ve likely heard of Dan Bortolotti, CFP, CIM and the term, “The Couch Potato Strategy”. Dan is most well-known for his blog on teaching Canadians about investing in index mutual funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs). His podcast was just released in November 2016 and new shows will be posted every two weeks. Check out his first episode!

Alright! Now it’s off to bed. My brain is loaded with lots of new info and I hope I’ve inspired you to learn more about investing towards your own future. Please share if you enjoy these sources and you have some good leads too.

*Questrade’s Portfolio IQ

One thought on “Money Research: Podcasts and Articles

Leave a Reply

