Snacks Before the Gym

There have been a lot of interruptions after work, but more or less, I’ve been going to the gym about 2-3 times a week. Usually I’m there around 5 pm, so I might feel a bit hungry.

Even though you’re suppose to have a little snack before a workout, I often don’t. I’m not the type of person to pack or eat a lot of snacks. I rarely snack. Having said that, I know having something healthy on hand means that I’m more likely to eat it, then walk across the street to the grocery store and give in to hot onion rings or a bag of chips.

Lately, I’ve been having nuts. I stash a handful of mixed nuts in this cute yellow snack pack (yes, I like buying children’s stuff) and just stash it in the Under Amour gym bag.


They last a while, don’t go stale easily and also don’t get squished (like bananas). It’s been working well as I do find myself grabbing a handful before rolling out the gym bag, even though it’s not my favourite snack. I don’t even eat them very fast, so I haven’t even had to replenish them until two weeks after I started using it. I know that making a healthy habit a convenient one is the best way to stick to it.

3 thoughts on “Snacks Before the Gym

  1. I do that too! I also put some dried fruit with the nuts for a mix of texture and flavour. So maybe dried cranberries or raisins or mangos. Not a lot. Just so that I get a bit of sugar especially when I’m craving something sweet.

Leave a Reply

