Back in the Kitchen

Prior to Goose Break, I was getting a bit tired of cooking. Having eaten my way through Turkey, I feel re-energized and inspired to try some new stuff. My sister’s friend, T., was actually kind enough to pass me some berbere powder.

I had a go tonight at making yemisir wot, otherwise known as spicy Ethiopian red lentil stew. I used the recipe from this Toronto Star article on the closing of Dukem.

Thankfully, I had some ginger that hadn’t gone bad and the final product turned out alright. It’s fairly strong, so I boiled some potatoes to balance it off. Still need a bit more tweaking; it’s not as yummy as what you’d normally get at the restaurants.

Maybe I’ll pick up different berbere mixes when I’m in Toronto during the summer.

10247304_305683572922658_9112620351393060409_n

2 thoughts on “Back in the Kitchen

  1. Pingback: A Glitch in the Works | Stumbling Through My Thirties

  2. Pingback: Monthly Goals: Merry May | Stumbling Through My Thirties

Leave a comment