March Updates

Currently reflecting on some recent purchases:

Presents: Was invited to a baby shower of a colleague. I’m not particularly close with her so I only ended up buying a onesie as a gift ($27.29) from Baby Charlotte (where I can acrue points for purchases). I did not spend extra money on gift wrapping. I also bought birthday presents for my mother, two books from a local bookstore ($45) rather than supporting a big chain like Indigo. I didn’t pay for wrapping as my mother usually doesn’t care for that stuff.

Shopping: Bought a pair of Kombi mitts for $30.78

Health benefits: Had an accident a few weeks ago; I slammed into the wall and chipped my tooth at my mother’s house. Thankfully the damage wasn’t severe and it didn’t go very deep. My coworkers suggested an emergency dental clinic in Cambridge that is open 7 days a week. I was able to book the afternoon off of work to go to an appointment. The procedure itself was only 20 minutes long! I had to pay out of pocket initially but the entire amount ($500) was covered by my health beneifts and I received the deposit the day (March 5th) after my dental appointment.

Haircut: I needed a trim as I’ve not been since November. I went back to my hairdresser at Marlowe, whom I’d been to 2 or 3 times. I asked for it not to be cut too short as I want to maintain length for the wedding reception in July. I paid a total of $98 including the tip and I’m just wondering if I can go elsewhere for cheaper in the future.

Movie: Went for a movie with friends on the weekend. We used movie passes we had collected for volunteering ($0).

Movement: Missed an aerial yoga class by 2 minutes as I was struggling to find parking, so that was one of ten class pass that I didn’t benefit from. Went to use the school gym to do deadlifting on Sunday night so that was free!

Leave a comment